Estimated Time to Read: 2 minutes

The 2012 Formula One racing season, the 63rd of its kind, made its official start on March 18. Scheduled to come to a close on November 25, the complete series is spread out amongst 20 different races and 20 different countries – the highest number of races in a single season throughout the sport’s entire history. This extended competition requires a level of focus and endurance far greater than previous runs, and it will be a test of every driver’s skills. In the end, only one driver will come out on top, and that will be the one competitor that is truly in it for the long run.

Changes for the 2012 Season

A number of important rule changes have also taken place with the onset of the 2012 Formula One racing season. Firstly, off-throttle blown diffusers, which were supposed to be fully outlawed in 2011, have finally been banned from all competition. The reactive ride-height system, which relied on a specialized system of hydraulics to maintain optimal car height, was also banned. Race vehicles are now required to pass a mandatory crash test during pre-season testing, and helium air guns can no longer be used in pit stops. Updated technical regulations now require a more streamlined vehicle nose, as well.

The final rule change affects the driver’s gearbox. Whereas the past guidelines allowed drivers the chance to change their gearbox one time without incurring a penalty, the new rules state that drivers are only allowed to change their gearbox one every five races. Race officials hope this new change will help to even the playing field for the duration of the series.


No less than 24 different drivers are signed up for competition in the 2012 Formula One racing season. Representing 12 separate racing organizations, each driver is on a personal mission to highlight their specific team. Primary drivers for the 2012 season include Sebastian Vettel, Mark Webber, Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton, Fernando Alonso, Felipe Massa, Michael Schumacher, Nico Rosberg, Kimi Raikkonen, Romain Grosjean, Paul di Resta, Nico Hulkenberg, Kamui Kobayashi, Sergio Perez, Daniel Ricciardo, Jean-Eric Vergne, Pastor Maldonado, Bruno Sennar, Heikki Kovalainen, Vitaly Petrov, Pedro de la Rosa, Narain Karthikeyan, Timo Glock, and Charles Pic.

Record Breakers

Even though we are only half way through the 2012 season, there have already been a number of records broken. In fact, a long-standing record was broken at the very beginning of the season when a total of six World Drivers’ Champions started competition in the first race. The previous record of five championship starters was set in 1970.

The record setting feats did not stop there, however. As the 2012 Formula One racing season continued to progress, it was soon evident that a new record would be set – and by the end of the seventh race it was set in stone: 2012 was the first year that the first seven championship races of the season were claimed by seven different competitors.

This post was provided by Brian Payne, a car racing enthusiast and sporting events specialist. He suggest to travelers to look at formula 1 tickets from